Ottawa New Music Creators


ONMC Winter 2020 Call for Scores: Ellen Waterman (solo flute)—Deadline Oct 8 2019

Ottawa New Music Creators, in partnership with Carleton University, is seeking existing or newly-composed works for solo flute (maximum duration: 8 minutes) for inclusion in their 2019-20 season. This new work will be performed by Carleton professor, Chair for Music in Canada, and seasoned performer Dr. Ellen Waterman.

Existing works should be submitted in PDF format through our Call for Scores page. Composers applying to compose a new work should submit PDF score samples of two contrasting works. No electronics are permitted.

The application deadline is October 8th, 2019.  Selected composers will be notified within one week. For the selected composers, the deadline for the submission of the complete score and parts is January 20, 2020.

Concert dates for performance of the selected works will include March 20, 2020 at Carleton Dominion Chalmers Centre in Ottawa.

The work will receive a high-quality audio recording eligible for personal, private use.

This Call for Scores is open exclusively to Ottawa New Music Creators composers; composers in the National Capital Region are invited to submit proposals, but winning composers will be asked to join ONMC.

More information about Dr. Ellen Waterman’s performance practice:

Ellen Waterman’s distinctive musical practice blends flute and vocalization. She studied flute with Jan Kocman, Douglas Stewart, and John Fonville and voice with Carol Plantamura. In the 1980s and ‘90s she performed in a number of R. Murray Schafer’s Patria series of environmental music theatre works and he composed the solo flute pieces Aubade and Nocturne (1996) for her. Her doctoral dissertation is an ethnography of Patria the Epilogue: And Wolf Shall Inherit the Moon. 

Ellen has been privileged to collaborate with an array of great improvisers including: Pauline Oliveros, Jesse Stewart, Ione, Eric Lewis, James Harley, Medea Electronique collective, Chris Chafe, Viv Corringham, Norman Adams, George Lewis, Nicole Mitchell, Miya Masaoka, Malcolm Goldstein, Jean Derome, Joane Hétu, Lori Freedman, Michael Waterman, and Michael Young. She has performed at national and international festivals and venues including Open Ears Festival of Music and Sound, the Guelph Jazz Festival, Suoni Per Il Popolo, Sound Symposium, and the Onassis Cultural Centre. 

Waterman has also been artist-in-residence for several festivals, including The Art of Immersive Soundscapes (U. Regina), Sound Travels Festival (Toronto), and the Chicago Creative Music Workshop (Chicago Jazz Festival). In 2014 and 2018 she participated in the Koumaria Residency in Sellasia, Greece. Ellen is represented on premiere recordings of works by Brian Ferneyhough (CRICD 652), R. Murray Schafer (CMCCD 8902, MW72) and spin duo (ADAPPS 15001).

Curtis Perry